Tags

, , , ,


My honey asked that we eat light today for dinner. My stint with pizza had it’s toll… :) so back to our usual chicken breast dinners. We typically have chicken breast with tomato and cucumber salad. I knew we didn’t have our typical items, and i had arugula left from my chicken & pesto pizza. Fridge raid was on! Chicken, check, arugula, check, carrot sticks, check. Then i noticed i had scallions from another pizza, yes another pizza… told you i was on a stint. Scallions, check. Then i see a mango from the corner of my eye. Yup, mango is going on this salad, baby!! I’ve become convinced that mangos go with EVERYTHING!!

  • Host –
  • Q: If you were crowned Miss America, what would you try to achieve during your reign?
  • Recipe Junkie-
  • A: I’d assure that the world was full of mangos, all year long. & of course, world peace! :D

I cooked my chicken with the italian seasonings used on the chicken & pesto pizza. wash the chicken breast, place in a plate and season. I just sprinkled each spice on both sides of the chicken breasts. Let the chicken rest before slicing.

for the salad:

  • 2 cups arugula
  • 1 medium ripe mango
  • 1 whole beef tomato (diced)
  • 4 whole scallions (diced)
  • 1/4 of a white onion (sliced)
  • carrot sticks
  • balsamic vinegar
  • salt & pepper

Rinse arugula, grab a bowl and add the diced tomato, diced scallions, sliced white onion, and sprinkle as much carrot sticks as you’d like. Cut the mango as shown here and add to the bowl. Toss lightly and season with salt & pepper. When ready to serve sprinkle some balsamic vinegar.

