Tags

, , , , , , ,


This is my mother’s (or Ma’ short for Mami, as we call her) sweet corn bread. I’ve been eating this since elementary school, that’s as far i as recall eating this. Ma’ says she found this recipe back in the day in an dominican newspaper. Homegirl didn’t write the name of the person who provided the recipe. So i don’t know of anyone else to give credit to but Ma’. This was made for my older sister who’s about to pop with my nephew! YAY!!! so excited :D She already gave me my babushkie, my sweet niece who’s gonna turn 2! Thanks, sis for being pregos!! Ma’ hasn’t made this in a while. She better spoil me like this when it’s my turn, that’s all i’m saying.  Or else i’m gonna let my “middle child syndrome” provide the guilt trip.

Anyway, back to the bread. It’s got the consistency of a cake but the taste of corn bread. It’s sweet but doesn’t take over. It’s addicting, it won’t last more than 48 hrs in your kitchen. Heat it up and spread a little butter, eat it out the pan, pick each crumb up! yes, it’s that good. 

Ma’s Sweet Corn Bread Recipe:

  • 2 cups of fine cornmeal
  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 4 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup of butter (room temperature)
  • makes enough for 2 (10 inch) and 1 (8 inch) cake pan
Preheat oven 350

In a large bowl mix all the dry ingredients (cornmeal, flour, salt, baking powder, sugar)

In a medium bowl mix all the wet ingredients (eggs, milk, and butter)

Gently and slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients in the large bowl. Stirring with a wooden spoon.  Grease up 2 (10 inch) cake pans and add the batter. Fill ’em up 3/4 of the way.  Got extra batter, get another small cake pan. Ma’s batter makes enough for 2 (10 inch) pans and 1 (8 inch) pan. Bake for about 30 minutes, until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Enjoy!! But i warned you…. get ready to eat up :)

I had to take a pic of Ma’s recipe book… it’s been around :)

