Tags

, ,


The sweet smell of freshly made crack cookies is undeniable. This is my version of a recipe my mother always made for Christmas gifts. I recall every year helping her make a batch and stealing a few.

When I started making these cookies for my friends during the holidays I quickly added my own stamp. I coded them with powdered sugar. I popped my cherry! That was the first recipe I had changed a bit. And as I introduced my friends to these marvelous cookies they quickly gave them the name we now know them as “crack cookies”. Their buttery crisp goodness is irresistible, you cant just have one! And the evidence of white powder left after the death of a cookie, rendered it’s name. They are like crack!

20110525-040026.jpg

Recipe:

1 lbs butter
1 1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
5 cups all purpose flour
Powder sugar

Preheat oven to 375 F. In a mixer, mix sugar & butter until creamy. Add vanilla and eggs. Add flour one cup at a time. Mix until thick dough.

The dough will be soft and slightly sticky. You can use a cookie press with any design you’d like or place small golf sized balls on a cookie sheet.

Bake until golden and remove from oven. Cool completly before covering with powdered sugar.

Enjoy :)

© confessions of a recipe junkie | michelle contreras

